Dawn of a New Dark Utopia

The title of this entry is far heavier than it really needs to be. It’s not the Zombie Apocalypse, Cthullu hasn’t risen, The Antichrist hasn’t risen. (*editors note* There is a Finding Nemo sequel coming out soon, focusing on Ellen Degeneres’ character…so i may have to take back my previous statement about the Antichrist) What I’ve referring to is what appears to be a new Boom Period for the Horror Genre. One could debate if it was Paranormal Activity, or even Saw that jump started it, or the rash of Horror themed TV shows that are enjoying great popularity (American Horror Story, The Walking Dead etc… I refuse to give any credit to that damn Vampire crap). Everywhere I look, I see Zombie this, or Zombie that…From a marketing standpoint, Horror is no longer everyone’s dirty little secret, but it’s been brought back into the open. Cycles like this happen again and again, it goes out of vogue for a time and almost becomes politically incorrect, then it becomes red hot again. Recent films such as Cabin in the Woods, Insidious, Sinister, Evil Dead, and Texas Chainsaw 3D, have been (in my opinion) superbly done, and set a high standard for following films to live up to. I find myself salivating for upcoming projects such as the next season of American Horror Story(Coven), and the new film from James Wan entitled The Conjuring. If your tastes fall a bit more towards the underground, There are enough classic re-releases coming out to make any horror fan salivate (check out Scream Factory, an imprint of Shout Factory for a good start). Right now, in select Cineplex theaters across Canada, you can catch special One-Night-Only screenings of some recent horror stand outs that you likely would never get a chance to see on the big screen, as part of their Sinister Cinema Events. Thursday May 23rd will see the screening of the ABCs of death, May 30th will bring American Mary, and June 19th will host No One Lives. Again, all screenings are one night only, so please visit http://www.cineplex.com/Events/sinistercinema/home.aspx, and check for which theater is screening near you. 

 

I’m fucking excited you guys…For someone who can’t get enough of the genre, it seems that for the time being, I get my wish…More and More and More.

One thought on “Dawn of a New Dark Utopia

  1. I agree with this huge boom in horror! I feel so much less awkward now admitting my love of all things horror, as opposed to High School when liking anything a bit dark made me feel like a social outcast. Finally everyone is catching up!!!! I’m delighted!!! Even my parents are starting to get more into it, whereas before they thought it was just morbid. 😀 I really want to see the ABC’s of death and hope to find a babysitter so I can see it!

Leave a Reply

